Please Donate

The Pan Mass Challenge is a two day bike-a-thon, of 220 miles, from Sturbridge to Provincetown, (there are also some shorter routes).  This occurs on one weekend every year in August (This year Aug. 4-5).  The riders start on Sat. and spend the night at Mass Maritme and then on Sunday continue to P-Town.  The Pan Mass Challenge is the largest one time fundraiser in the United States.  They donate 100% of ALL funds raised to the Jimmy Fund (Part of the Red Sox Foundation).  These funds are used for childrens cancer research at Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston.  The PMC raises 60% of the Jimmy Fund’s total annual revenue and is Dana Farber’s largest contributer. In 2011 the PMC raised and donated 35 million dollars to the Jimmy Fund. The PMC has donated 338 million dollars since 1980 when it began with 36 riders raising $10,200.  The goal for 2012 is 36 million dollars.  There are 5,500 riders and 3,000 volunteers.  This August will be my fifteenth year volunteering for the PMC.  I work at the Barnstable , MA waterstop where the riders stop for refreshments and medical care.  Most riders (there are over 3,000) require some sort of medical attention.  Some need just Tylenol while others need to be transported to the hospital and a few need emergency care and then be rushed by ambulance to the hospital.  Bryant started volunteering with me when he was 16 until he was 21.  He was in Miami this year.  Matthew had intended to start volunteering the year he turned 17 but left us before he could. I started volunteering because I had to bring my son, Bryant, to Dana Farber because it was thought he had leukemia.  Luckily Dana Farber told us he did not.  I was so thankful that when I heard about the PMC later that year I immediately volunteered.  I also now volunteer in Jeff Haye’s memory who was a great friend of my son Bryant, when he died at 18 years old from Ewings sarcoma.  If anyone would like to help me out with my fundraising you can buy Matthew’s book when it is published, go to the PMC website and use the gift code MH0172 (you can also choose MAKE a DONATION, then type my last name into the box, then choose Marianne Hurley and make the donation that way), or send a check to Marianne Hurley, PO Box 409, Forestdale, MA 02644 (in the memo section write donation to PMC). I also take credit cards, Visa, Mastercard, and Discover.  I can take them over the phone or you can stop by and I can run your card thru a machine if you do not want to use the card over the phone (if you want to make a credit card donation over the phone there is a 2.5% hadling charge which can be taken out of the donation or added to the donation.  I can also take a donation via PayPal.  To make a donation via PayPal you need to contact me and I will set up the payment for you.  You must have a PayPal account to make a donation through PayPal.  It is easy to set up an account and it is FREE at www.paypal.com   Please, Please seriosly consider making a donation in Matthew’s memory.  Please post this to your FaceBook page and ask everyone to pass it on.  Many employers will also match your donation so please ask your employer.

Leave a Reply

